top of page
  • Skribentens bildLisa Löfberg

Am I back?

Uppdaterat: 13 nov. 2018

Hello!

So much has happened! I've had rough, crazy, teaching and happy moments. Rough dealing with working too much and confronting my host family about double hours. Crazy as in meeting the former king and queen of Belgium. Teaching as in italian class, who I can trust, making new friends, how to deal with home sickness and where the best coffee and gelato is to be found in my area. And happy as in finally figuring out what I want to study, falling in love and feeling like I am exactly where I am supposed to be in life and geographically while at the same time being excited about my upcoming travels and whatever surprises that might come.


I'ts been over a month since I blogged the last time and I don't really know where to start... According to me, the sum-up above is great. I've had some rough times and I am still having trouble finding friends, but in general I don't feel lonely. My main issue when it comes to my blogging situation is my internet and the fact that I broke the plug I charge my computer in, but I've found a new one (where the washing machine usually is plugged in) and hopefully a corner in which I can reach the internet in my room. However, there's some anxiety tied to blogging at this point where I feel like I owe my readers a tell of where I've kept myself during the month in which I've been absent. But I've realized that this is actually my blog, and my decision. A blog shouldn't give you such anxiety that you want quit. Sorry not sorry, my moth off will stay a no-tell.


However if you know me, don't hesitate to call me. Got an italian phone number, but ask my parents or reach me on one of my socials and I'll let you know.


I guess that makes one thing clear - no past, just present (ish) and future! So how about we start with Monday morning?

Today feels like the perfect day to start blogging again, because today has been excellent! However the start, not so much! I woke up at 9 to realize that I didn't put an alarm last night and that've over slept. I told myself 2 more minutes and fell asleep for 20. I've always had some italian gene telling me I'm quicker than I actually am, however since coming here I think the culture of always being late has made an impression and somehow I am actually turning out slower and slower for each day that pass. A really, really bad habit. For instance, in the beginning of meeting up with people and sending them a text saying "I'm sorry, I think I might be late" I turned up 2-5 minutes past the set date. However now, I'm about 20 minutes late. On the other hand, "a queen is never late, everyone else is simply early" (The Princess' Diaries 2).



In the end I didn't have time to have breakfast before work so I just pushed down two bran Madeleines in my bag (that I later forgot at home??), which probably is more nutritious than my regular, italian breakfasts based on Nesquik choco cereals and cookies. Honestly. If I didn't have diabetes before... Anyhow, I picked up the two-year old for our daily park tour but didn't even get to the park 'til it started to rain. My host mom, prefers the children to stay inside when it rains, which is basic fall weather in Milan during fall so yeah, I got the same question you do: are they allergic? - No. But you would think so. To be fair, the rain here isn't like it is in Sweden and it sort of makes you ill. I don't know how it works, but it makes sense that she wants them to stay in when that's the case. Either way, I asked my host child if they wanted to go back home but they were distracted by the very stars that follows the city as it is closing Christmas time. We followed the stars and got to Navigli, which might be the greatest area in Milan. I praise Navigli! The place is gorgeous and the night life is everything! There's also a great playground that does not compete with any other playground that we've visited. No matter the weather, this two-year-old goes crazy for the games we play there. After she fell for the fourth time around I gave up and took her home for some more games, lunch and sleep. When I got home after lunch I cleaned, studied, did some laundry, had a snack and catched up on some podcasts. By afternoon I walked to the 6-year-old's school to pick him up and play some games at nonna's house, but as soon as he saw nonna he said "bye Lisa". I went to his home where I picked up the 2-year-old and went back to play with her at nonna's. At 18 I took them back to the house for a bath, PJs and dinner as usual. However the 12th of November is my host dad's birthday and therefore there was a small celebration with dinner lasting a bit longer than usual and guests such as relatives and friends. After dinner I went by the supermarket, Pam, to get some snacks and then I went home.


Now my day usually looks something like this and there's not a lot of things happening but the reason for this being such a great day is because the 2-year-old who's been the hardest to get to know, even though I spend the most time with her. But today I finally got to her! Today he finally noticed me as someone who does not only take her to pee and take baths when she doesn't want to, but actually someone that is going to spend a lot of time with her. I think this warm up, let's her be comfortable and a lot more able to learn the language I am teaching her. I will see about tomorrow, maybe it was just a one time thing.

Anyhow, this is long one, I am surprised if you read all the way 'til the end, because I am not even gonna correction read this. I am too tired. Sorry for no pictures, been less of an interesting day, and the function in which you upload pictures is slow with this WiFi I might just die a little bit on the inside. Ok, byyyyeee




0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page